UNTIL 24 HOURS OF REALITY: SPOTLIGHT ON SOLUTIONS AND HOPE

 

JUST TRANSITION

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 7: EUROPE - CEST 2PM / US - CDT 7AM / JAPAN - 9PM JST

Join us for this global dialogue moderated by Al Gore.

The term "just transition" is fast becoming a key part of climate advocates' vocabulary worldwide, as we work to quickly shift global energy use from polluting and climate-changing fossil fuels to clean sources like wind and solar.

But with community input core to the process, what a just transition actually means in practice can look very different all around the world. Join us for a dialogue with advocates from Climate Reality branches in Europe, the US, and Japan to explore varying perspectives on what a truly just transition is for their respective communities, share best practices, and learn how we can accelerate this process planet-wide. 

Join us for this global dialogue and learn more about:

  • How advocates can support clean electricity initiatives at every level, from local all the way up to national.

  • Proven strategies for advocating for clean energy installations and incentives.

  • Fighting new fossil fuel infrastructure and industry greenwashing.

  • How a just transition can create good green jobs with a future for workers and new opportunities for disadvantaged communities.

 

EXPAND ZERO-EMISSION VEHICLES AND TRANSPORTATION

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 7: PHILIPPINES - 9PM PHT / CANADA - 9AM EDT / US - 8AM CDT

Join us for this global dialogue moderated by Al Gore.

Transportation isn't just one of the biggest drivers of global warming. It's also a major contributor to the air pollution killing millions prematurely and sickening millions more each year. The problem is especially pronounced in urban areas, with many relying on dirty diesel and gasoline-powered systems that pour pollution into the air many poor families and frontline communities breathe.

It's time to do better. Join activists from Climate Reality's Philippines, Canada, and US branches to explore the state of climate-smart transportation today and learn how we can work for policies that transform the sector, shrink emissions, and make better options like electric vehicles and buses and rapid transit choices available to all.

Join us for this global dialogue and learn about:

  • How we can support advocacy measures through research, data collection, and fostering competition between cities.

  • Education opportunities connecting dirty transport and the climate crisis.

  • Demanding increased accessibility to public transit and infrastructure for underserved communities.

 

BUILDING GREEN COMMUNITIES

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 7: LATIN AMERICA - 10AM CDT / BRAZIL - 12PM BRT / INDIA - 8:30PM IST

Join us for this global dialogue moderated by Al Gore.

The fight for just climate solutions isn't only about stopping rising temperatures. It's about creating healthy and inclusive communities ready for a warmer world and communities where we can all thrive.

Join advocates from Climate Reality's Latin America, Brazil, and India branches for a global dialogue on empowering residents and developing new community-led approaches to building the neighborhoods, towns, and cities we call home.

In this dialogue, we'll explore key issues including: 

  • How we create ambitious local climate action plans that emphasize resilience and smart growth.

  • Teaching municipalities how to include climate action in their development plans.

  • Equipping local communities with the knowledge they need to build the action plans right for their circumstances and their lives.

 

NATURAL SOLUTIONS

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 7: INDONESIA - 9PM WIT / US - 7AM PDT / TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - 10AM AST / CAMEROON - 3PM WAT

Join us for this global dialogue moderated by Al Gore.

Climate change is transforming our natural spaces, often to devastating effect. But our natural spaces can also be our greatest asset in the fight to stop rising temperatures. Forests sequester carbon and are home to incredible biodiversity, making them an essential element of tackling the climate crisis and protecting life on Earth. And that's just for starters.

Join advocates from Climate Reality's Indonesia, US, and Africa branches as well as the Global Shapers Port of Spain Hub to learn how we can help fight global warming by preserving and rebuilding native ecosystems, educating communities, and getting our hands directly into the dirt.

At this global dialogue, we'll explore:

  • Rebuilding coastal resiliency with native vegetation with Climate Reality Leaders and the general public.

  • Developing public education campaigns on forest and soil health.

  • Advocating for policies that protect crucial ecosystems.

  • Supporting food sovereignty through community gardens.